How to create and revoke API tokens

Overview

Front's API settings give you the controls you need to manage active API tokens and what resources they can access. Define the access permission scope when you create a new token, monitor your active tokens, and delete them to revoke access at any time.

Instructions

Create a new token 

Step 1

In Settings, click on Plugins & API

Step 2

Click the API tab.

Step 3

Click New token to create a new API token.

Step 4

Set the permission scope for the token. To give API access to all team resources, choose "Shared resources", or learn about the other permissions scopes below.

Step 5

Click Create.

Step 6

You will now see this token in your list of tokens. Click on the token to access and copy it for use. Learn more about how to use your API token here: https://dev.frontapp.com/#authentication.

Revoke a token

Step 1

Find the token you want to revoke in your list of tokens.

Step 2

Click on that token to open its settings.

Step 3

Click Revoke token to delete the token and revoke its access.

Revoke a partner integration token

When you connect a 3rd party integration with Front via OAuth, you will see the token for that integration listed under "Apps with Access". To revoke access for a certain integration, click that token and follow the steps above.

Note: You cannot create a 3rd party OAuth token in your Front API settings — these are only created when you grant access to an integration in the partner's authentication flow.

Token permission scopes

When creating a token, you can choose the appropriate permission scope for what data the API can access in your team's account: 

Shared resources: Access to all team resources. If you use multiple Teams, this option gives API access across all Teams.

Private resources: Access to private resources (individual channels, contacts, conversations, inboxes, messages, rules and tags) of your individual users. However, each user must also grant permission for the API to access their private resources in their individual preferences, or you can do this for them in the Teammates section.

Auto provisioning: Access to Front's SCIM server, which is used to sync users across various systems. You will only see the "Auto provisioning" option if you have purchased this feature for your Front account.

Team: {Team name}: Access to team resources only for that particular Team. You will only see "Team" options if you have purchased the Teams feature for your Front account. 

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 2 wk agoLast active
  • 99Views
  • 1 Following

Welcome to the Front community!

The Front community is your place to come together and discuss the product, register for webinars, and get support from our help center.

Webinars

New to Front or need to refresh your skills? Join us for live training sessions every week! Check them all out here.

If at any point you need assistance, please don't hesitate to email us: team@frontapp.com.