Shared inboxes merge duplicates by default

Overview

When you have team inboxes added to Front within the same Team, emails that are addressed to multiple team inbox addresses will be automatically merged into one master copy to reduce the amount of work your team has to do. Any replies, comments, and actions done in one inbox will be reflected in the other inbox so that the whole team has transparency on who has already handled the email. Chances are, not every person needs to see the email; what's important is that the inquiry is handled as efficiently as possible.


How it works

Activities and messages

When an email is merged by being addressed to multiple shared inboxes, activities and messages happening in one inbox will be visible in all other inboxes, unless the inboxes are split. For instance, these actions will show in all inboxes:

  • Inbound and outbound messages. Note: Even if your customer later removes one of the shared inbox addresses, the email will remain shared and visible since it's already in the shared inbox.
  • Team tags added.
  • Comments and mentions in the thread.
  • Assignment activity.
  • Status actions such as archiving, reopening, snoozing - if the action is made to the team copy, not a subscriber Shared with me copy (which is private to the subscriber).

Send & Archive from one shared inbox to another

If you compose a message using a shared inbox to another shared inbox, then press Send & Archive, this will result in only one outbound copy of the email that will be in an archived status. Front will not create another inbound copy in the destination inbox since the inboxes are shared and emails are de-duplicated by default. In fact, Front replaces this type of internal communication with the Discussions feature, in which you can send a Discussion to a team inbox instead of sending an email.

Split the inbox

Of course, there will be cases when you actually do want a shared inbox to always keep its own copy of an email when it's sent to multiple shared inboxes. For instance, your accounting team may always have an internal workflow they need to complete. In these cases where you don't want the default shared inbox behavior, an admin can contact us to request that we split your shared inbox to keep its copy separate. After we complete the split, the inbox will have its own copy of all emails; and no internal actions, such as archiving or comments, will sync with other inbox copies.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 2 mths agoLast active
  • 220Views
  • 1 Following