Subscribing to a conversation

Overview

Front automatically subscribes you to conversations that you have participated in and you can also opt-in to subscribe to emails you're interested in getting additional updates on. 

You will automatically become a subscriber if:

  • You were assigned a conversation previously, but it's now been assigned to someone else
  • You commented or replied on a conversation 
  • You have been invited to the conversation

Just archiving a conversation will not cause you to follow it automatically.


Subscribing

How to subscribe to a conversation

To subscribe to a conversation click the bell icon at the top right of the conversation. By default, you will be subscribed to any conversation that arrives in your individual inbox and you have the option to manually subscribe to any team conversations you are not an active participant in. 

Where are my subscribed conversations?

All conversations you're subscribed to will show up in your Shared with me section in your Individual Inbox.  The conversation will automatically bump to the top if there is new activity within the subscribed conversation. When new comments are sent or messages come in on a conversation you're subscribed, your Shared with me will bold.

Status in participants menu

As a subscriber to a conversation, you automatically become a participant in the conversation. This means if there is more than one person that is partaking in the conversation, your avatars will appear in the participant menu. Others will be able to tell when you have last read the message or if you have muted the conversation. 

How to mute

If you want to stop getting updates on the conversation, you can mute the conversation. Muting the conversation will allow for you to search for it in the future, but the conversation will not automatically bump in your Shared with me unless you have been directly @mentioned. Click the bell icon and select Mute to mute the conversation.


Managing your auto-subscribe settings

You can determine how you want to subscribe to conversations by going to My Preferences and toggling the setting for these settings: 

Auto-subscribe on comment.

  • If you would like to automatically have the conversation bumped in your Shared with me after you have commented, toggle the setting on (blue).
  • If you would not like to to have the conversation automatically bump in your Shared with me after you have commented, toggle the setting to off (gray).

Auto-subscribe on reply.

  • If you would like to automatically have the conversation bumped in your Shared with me after you have replied to a conversation, toggle the setting on (blue).
  • If you would not like to to have the conversation automatically bump in your Shared with me after you have replied to a conversation, toggle the setting to off (gray).

 

10replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • how can you see who is following an email?

    Reply Like
  • Jason H Hi there,

    Click the "i" in the top right corner and you'll be able to see who is following a conversation. See screen shot below.

     

    Reply Like 1
  • If I archive a message in Following, will it archive for the person it's assigned to? What about if I mark it as read by viewing it?

    Reply Like
  • Galen King Yes, it will archive for the person it's assigned to. It's best to unfollow the conversation if you don't want it in your Following folder. If you mark it as read, it will only be read for you, not for the person it's assigned to.

    Reply Like
  • Cori Morris  OK. But I want an inbox zero. Let's say I receive a message in my personal inbox. I want to make it followed by a member of my team. I can do this. But I want to get rid of it in my inbox. If I archive it, it will archive it for my team member. Will he be able to access it though? Will he see it in its 'following' folder anyway? If not, should I leave it in my inbox folder forever?

    Reply Like
  • Jerome Chouraqui Yes, your teammate will still have access to it even if it's archived, but it will be in the ALL tab of his following inbox. If you want him to reply to the email, you should assign it to him, instead of adding him as a follower.

    Reply Like
  • Is this article still accurate? I just tried archiving a convo in my "following" folder, and it is not archiving for my coworkers. 

    Reply Like
  • Katie Fang Hi there,

    To be completely transparent, you're on a newer version of Front where this article is not accurate. We are working on transitioning all Front customers to the version you are on, so some articles will be inaccurate for you. The "following" folder is now "your own" so you may do what you wish with it.

    Hope that clarifies why you're seeing this!

    Reply Like
  • Cori Morris Is there a way to adjust settings so that I don't follow conversations automatically? 

    Reply Like
  • Paul Go You can always make sure to have the option "assign on first reply" turned of in the channel as well as the option "Auto-follow when commenting" turned off in your settings. This will reduce the amount of conversations you are following. However there is no specific way at the moment to turn following off completely. 

    Reply Like
Like Follow
  • 1 mth agoLast active
  • 10Replies
  • 1930Views
  • 8 Following

Welcome to the Front community!

The Front community is your place to come together and discuss the product, register for webinars, and get support from our help center.

Webinars

New to Front or need to refresh your skills? Join us for live training sessions every week! Check them all out here.

If at any point you need assistance, please don't hesitate to email us: team@frontapp.com.