Subscribing and muting a conversation
When you're a participant in a conversation in Front, you have two options: to subscribe to the conversation, or to mute it. You can think of this like "following" or "unfollowing" a thread on social media.
If you're subscribed, you will see all new replies and comments in the conversation in your inbox. If you've muted, the conversation will archive and only pop up again in your inbox if you are @mentioned specifically.
How to subscribe to a conversation
To subscribe to a conversation click the bell icon at the top left of the conversation. You will subscribe to a conversation if you:
- Are sent a conversation directly to your private email
- Reply to a conversation when your settings are set to auto-subscribe on reply
- Comment on the conversation when your settings are set to auto-subscribe on comment
- Are @mentioned in a conversation
- Are notified by a rule
- Are invited via the participants menu
- Click the subscribe bell, and continue to subscribe without muting
Where are my subscribed conversations?
All conversations you're subscribed to will show up in your Shared with me section. The conversation will automatically bump to the top if there is new activity within the subscribed conversation. More information on your Shared with me section can be found here.
Status in participants menu
As a subscriber to a conversation, you automatically become a participant in the conversation. This means if there is more than one person that is partaking in the conversation, your avatars will appear in the participant menu. Others will be able to tell when you have last read the message or if you have muted the conversation.
How to mute a conversation
If you want to stop getting updates on the conversation, you can mute the conversation. Muting the conversation will allow you to search for it in the future, but the conversation will not automatically bump in your Shared with me unless you have been directly @mentioned.
To mute a conversation, click the bell icon above the message and select Mute and Archive. Whenever you manually mute a conversation, it will also archive.
What happens when you mute?
Mute conversations if you want to:
- Silence activity on a conversation other than @mentions
- Maintain access to a conversation without receiving notifications on the conversation
When you mute a conversation:
- New comments will not unarchive the conversation in your inbox
- New inbound or outbound messages will not unarchive the conversation in your inbox
- If you are the assignee, you cannot mute — you need to unassign or reassign
- Others cannot mute a conversation for you
- Being @mentioned will unarchive the conversation for you, but not subscribe you.
Managing your auto-subscribe and auto-mute settings
You can determine when you want to subscribe or mute conversations automatically in My Preferences:
Auto-subscribe on comment
If you would like to automatically have the conversation bumped in your Shared with me after you have commented, toggle the setting on.
Auto-subscribe on reply
If you would like to automatically have the conversation bumped in your Shared with me after you have replied to a conversation, toggle the setting on.
Mute on move from individual to team inbox
If you would like to automatically have the conversation muted and archive when you move a conversation from your individual inbox to a team inbox, toggle the setting on.
Mute on unassign
If you would like to automatically have the conversation muted and archive when you unassign a conversation from yourself, toggle the setting on. This will not archive the conversation in the team inbox. Note that this setting only applies when you manually unassign a conversation from yourself; not when a rule unassigns you from a conversation, in which case you will stay subscribed until you mute it.
Cori Morris OK. But I want an inbox zero. Let's say I receive a message in my personal inbox. I want to make it followed by a member of my team. I can do this. But I want to get rid of it in my inbox. If I archive it, it will archive it for my team member. Will he be able to access it though? Will he see it in its 'following' folder anyway? If not, should I leave it in my inbox folder forever?
Katie Fang Hi there,
To be completely transparent, you're on a newer version of Front where this article is not accurate. We are working on transitioning all Front customers to the version you are on, so some articles will be inaccurate for you. The "following" folder is now "your own" so you may do what you wish with it.
Hope that clarifies why you're seeing this!
Paul Go You can always make sure to have the option "assign on first reply" turned of in the channel as well as the option "Auto-follow when commenting" turned off in your settings. This will reduce the amount of conversations you are following. However there is no specific way at the moment to turn following off completely.