How to delegate your inbox to a teammate

Overview

Individual inboxes are a great way to manage your own emails, but sometimes it’s helpful to give teammates or your manager access to your inbox for easier collaboration. 

You can share your individual inbox with teammates in Front by using our delegated inbox feature. This feature will allow your teammates to view the conversations in your inbox, and work with you on achieving Inbox Zero by taking actions like archiving or snoozing for you. They can also reply to conversations in your inbox but will reply from their own email address (they cannot reply as you).

When you delegate your inbox to a teammate and share all sections of your inbox, they will also see any private tags you have pinned to your workspace. This allows them to access messages you have dragged from your inbox into a private tag, so they aren’t missed.


Instructions

Step 1

Open Settings by clicking on your profile image in the upper left corner of Front, and then click My inboxes.

Step 2

Click Delegations in the left tabs menu on the My inboxes page, and then click on Add a delegation.

Step 3

Select the teammates whom you’d like to give access to your inbox. These teammates will have access to see your Assigned to me and Shared with me sections, as well as any individual inboxes you have connected.

Step 4

Click Create at the top right to save your changes, and you’ll see your new delegation listed. Now your teammates will have access to see your emails so you can work together more transparently! If you’re highly collaborative with your teammates, it’s a great way to make your workflows more efficient.

Step 5

Click on a delegation to view its details or edit it.

To delete a delegation, scroll all the way to the bottom of its details page and click Delete this delegation.


What teammates can access in your delegated inbox

Once you’ve created your delegation, any teammates with access to your inbox will see a new section in the left workspace panel of Front, with your name as the section header. The new section will be located below your Teams section, and above your Teammates section.

Below your name in the new section, they will see the same rows and counters that you see in your personal workspace: Inbox, Assigned to me, Shared with me, Discussions, individual inboxes, Starred, and any tags you have pinned. They will see the exact same content that you see when you click into these sections. Lastly, if you star a conversation in a delegated inbox, it will appear in that teammate's Starred section. 

What teammates can do

Teammates can take these actions on your behalf in your delegated inbox: 

What teammates cannot do

Teammates cannot take these actions on your behalf in your delegated inbox: 

  • Reply using your email address (they can reply using their own email address)
  • Comment as you (comments posted will be as them)
  • Block Sender
  • Mark as Read for you (they can Mark as Read for themselves)
  • Tag conversations with your private tags

Hiding or showing a delegated inbox

You can choose which delegated inboxes you want to show or hide in your workspace panel. Go into your Settings, and click on My preferences. Scroll to the setting called Delegated inboxes and use the dropdown menu to select which teammates you want to show or hide in your workspace. The teammates you select will now be displayed.

Note: When a teammate is blocked, you will still have access to their delegated inbox and you can still see their inbox history in Front. If you don't want to visually see it in your Front, you can simply hide the inbox in your preferences.


Customize your delegation

Share specific individual inboxes

You may have multiple individual inboxes connected to Front, like your work email address and your personal email address. If you only want to share a subset of your individual inboxes with your teammates,  you can do so by toggling the Share all sections option as you create or edit your delegation.

You can then select the specific individual inboxes to share. Your teammates will then only be able to view the contents of the specified individual inboxes.

Disabling Share all sections limits what your teammates can access from your inbox and their view of your inbox in their workspace panel. When Share all sections is disabled, teammates will not see your Assigned to me or Shared with me sections or your pinned private tags, and they will not see your inbox counters. 

Share all sections does not impact what the teammate can or cannot do within the inbox; this stays the same regardless of whether Share all sections is disabled or enabled.

Control sharing within specific delegated inbox

There may be cases where you want to delegate an individual inbox, but do not want to share everything in your inbox. In these cases, you can build individual rules and individual tags to route certain emails out of your inbox and file them into private folders, if the contents of the emails are predictable. For instance, you may want to share all emails sent by customers but not emails sent to you by internal teammates. Here's how you can set this up:

  1. In your delegation, toggle Off the Share all sections option.
  2. Check off the specific inboxes you want to share.
  3. Go into your Personal settings and create an individual rule that says: When inbound, if From is in domain yourcompany.com, then add tag Your tag and remove tag Inbox. This will move the emails out of your actual inbox and file them into your individual tag that only you have access to. The removal of the default Inbox tag is the action that takes the email out of your individual inbox, so this action must be present for the rule to work.
  4. Pin your private tag to your own workspace, so that you can quickly access these emails. The private tag now acts as a folder that your delegated teammates cannot see, since you've turned off Share all sections.
  5. Always test your rules to ensure they work as intended.

You can alter the rule conditions and tag names as you need. Keep in mind that rules only work if your emails have predictable factors you can build into rule conditions. If you cannot reliably predict which emails should remain confidential, then it would be best to not delegate your inbox; instead, build rules or manually share specific emails with teammates.


Analytics in delegated inboxes

When you delegate your inbox to a teammate and they help send replies for you from their own individual channel or from a shared channel, the analytics will be recorded in your teammate's individual analytics report or the team report, instead of in your individual analytics report. 

4replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • We've had multiple agents that have had trouble finding the button Delete this delegation. Is there any way you can make the button easier to find instead of scrolling all the way to the bottom? Just a feature request change.

    Like 1
  • Can an admin delegate the inbox on behalf of a user?

    Like 1
  • Yes, is that possible that admin delegate the inbox on behalf of a user ? I'd really like to know.

    Like 1
  • Hi @molly and @camill

    Currently Private inboxes are a private space for teammate's private channels. For the security of the private space, only the owner of the inbox can delegate to other teammates.

    Like 1
Like Follow
  • 3 wk agoLast active
  • 4Replies
  • 3901Views
  • 4 Following