Allow all participants to reply in a conversation

Overview

Channels in shared inboxes have an All teammates can reply option. This is turned off by default. When turned off, only teammates with access to that shared inbox can reply with, or send new messages from, that channel.

If turned on, any participant of a conversation using this channel can reply using this channel, regardless of if they have access to the inbox where the channel lives. However, only teammates with access to the inbox where this channel lives can start a new conversation using this channel.

This is a channel-level setting and can be applied to any type of channel in a team inbox.


Instructions

Follow the steps below to enable All teammates can reply for a team channel.

Step 1

Go to your Company settings. Click Inboxes under your Team name.

Step 2

Select the team inbox that contains your channel, and go to the Channels section for that inbox.

Step 3

Click on the channel to expand its settings. Toggle on All teammates can reply.

Step 4

Click Save changes.


FAQ

Can this be applied to individual inboxes?

This option is not available for any channels in private inboxes. The setting is only available for channels in shared inboxes.

Does this affect inbox access?

Enabling All teammates can reply for a team channel does not affect teammates' access to that inbox overall. A teammate will still need to be an explicit member of the team inbox in order to view all conversations within that inbox.

Can participants just send a reply from a different channel?

This depends on the channel type. The All teammates can reply option is particularly useful for channel types where you cannot change the reply channel (i.e. From address) when replying to a message. This helps ensure that all participants in a conversation are able to send outbound replies in that conversation.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 2 mths agoLast active
  • 79Views
  • 1 Following