How to add a Google Group as a shared inbox in Front

Overview

To get started with Front, you need to forward the email sent to your Google Apps to Front.

Instructions

Step 1:

Go to your settings

Step 2:

Click on "Inboxes" and "Add a team inbox"

Step 3:

Choose the "Email" option

Step 4:

Enter the email address of your team inbox

Step 5:

Choose "Google Group"

Step 6:

Copy your forward address

Copy the email address we generated for you when creating a new inbox.

If you need to find it again, go to Inboxes, pick the inbox, then click "Edit channel: address@company.com"

Step 7:

Add the address to your Google Apps group

Login to your Google Apps admin area (http://www.google.com/a/domain.com)

On the main navigation page, click on Groups.

If you already have a group setup for your email address, just edit the group and paste the forwarding address (the one we obtained at step #1) to the Add new members field and click the Add button.

Step 8:

Remove individuals from the Google Group, except the Front email address

Remove individuals from the Google group so only one copy of the email comes into Front and duplicate emails aren't sent to individuals as well.

Step 9:

Send a test email

When you are ready, click the "Send test email" button. It will verify that the Google Group is correctly configured and automatically validate your inbox.

If you don't have a Google Group

Create a new group by clicking the Create group icon in the upper-right corner of the page

If you create a new group:

  • Give it a name
  • Give it an email address (be sure it matches the email address you've added into Front!)
  • Set access level to Team
  • check the box to allow anyone on the internet to post a message

Click on Create a new group when done.

Note

You will also need to make the group a Public group.

 

10replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Is it possible to remove the unsubscribe footer that is added to every email received at the Group address?

    You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups

    Reply Like 1
  • Hi Eric,

    According to this link, it looks like this can be disabled in your settings in Google Groups for Business.

    Reply Like
  • Hi Cori,

    That's correct there are some settings in Settings > Email options > Email footer where you can remove everything, including a "Display how to unsubscribe from this group by email." option. However looking into this a bit yesterday it sounds like this unsubscribe remains for members outside the Google Apps organization, such as the Front forwarding address. Presumably that's for CAN-SPAM, etc. compliance.

    There's probably a workaround entailing a new user/address where I could forward to both Front and the group, or perhaps making frontapp.com a domain alias for the entire org to "whitelist" it for Google Groups. But those solutions involve extra cost and noise in our Google account, it'd be nice if Front could strip that footer as part of the Groups integration.

    Reply Like
  • Eric,

    Unfortunately that's not something we currently allow for in Front. It's possible that we'll create a workaround in the future, so stay tuned!

    Reply Like 2
  • Cori Morris

    I'm having the same issue. Any luck on resolving this? Are there any workarounds?

    Reply Like
  • Sebastian Nothing has changed. I'm sorry.

    Reply Like
  • I've figured out how to get rid of the unsubscribe footers. Hopefully, Google doesn't "fix" this.

     

    In the Group settings page on the Admin Console make sure "Allow members outside your organization" is set to NO. This may seem incorrect because the Front domain is obviously outside of your Apps domain, but it disables the footer yet the emails will be delivered to Front normally.

    Reply Like 1
  • Matt Wielbut thank you for this solution, couldn't find it else where. It does the trick indeed if we respond to one message only. for the correspondant it appears without the line. However, when the correspondant answers to our first message and we respond back, the line appears again at the bottom of the conversation. Does it happen to you as well ? 
    Cori Morris any updates on a newer solution ?

    Thanks all!

    Reply Like
  • hello hmm, no it doesn't. I think that's a setting you have to change in the Google groups advanced settings.

    Reply Like
  • Matt Wielbut thanks for the feedback, I didn't change any additional settings from the ones you suggested and now the line did disappear. Coolio. Maybe it needed some time to be fully updated. Thanks again.

    Reply Like
Like1 Follow
  • 1 Likes
  • 2 mths agoLast active
  • 10Replies
  • 6102Views
  • 8 Following