How Front handles Gmail confidential mode

Overview

Gmail has a confidential mode feature that allows users to send sensitive information to recipients and prevent unauthorized access. Gmail explains:

You can use confidential mode to set an expiration date for messages or revoke access at any time. Recipients of the confidential message will have options to forward, copy, print, and download disabled. 

If a Gmail user sends you an email using confidential mode, your viewing experience will differ based on whether you are viewing the message within Gmail itself, or in another email client like Front. Both are simple to use.


How it works

Viewing in Gmail

If you view the email in Gmail, granted that you are also a Gmail user, the message content will show natively in your Gmail inbox until the expiration date. 

Viewing in Front

If you view the email in Front, or any other non-Gmail client, you will not see the actual content of the email, but be asked to click a link to View the email.

From there, a new web page will open. You need to be logged into the corresponding account on Gmail in order to view it. You may be asked to enter a passcode sent to your phone or email in order to view the content, depending on the sender's settings for the email. 

2replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Do Front have any plans to support confidential mode in terms of sending? For those who have connected their G-Suite/Gmail account of course. This is actually the only thing I’m missing.

    Reply Like
  • Patrick W Hi there! It's not on our immediate roadmap, but we'll be sure to let you know when we do add it.

    Reply Like 1
Like Follow
  • 3 mths agoLast active
  • 2Replies
  • 72Views
  • 3 Following