How to handle being out of office
Front makes it easy to handle being out of office. You can set your own availability, as well as a teammate's.
When you are out of office
Go into your avatar and click the bell icon. Change the status to unavailable by turning on Out of Office. Your bell and the dot by your avatar will turn red, so that your team knows you are unavailable.
While you are Out of Office, if your client replies to a message that originated in a shared inbox, the conversation will automatically get unassigned and a teammate can pick up where you left off.
Step 2 (Optional)
Your individual inbox is unaffected by setting yourself to unavailable. It is recommended that you also create a vacation responder.
When a teammate is out of office
If a teammate is out of office, an admin can adjust their availability for them.
Go into your Settings and select Team. Change anyone's status to unavailable by turning the toggle off.
Select a teammate > Overview > Teammate is available > toggle off if teammate is out of office.
When a teammate is set to unavailable, any responses they receive that originated in a shared inbox will cause that thread to become unassigned and returned to that shared inbox. This helps other teammates respond to the thread in a more timely manner.
Any shared inbox threads previously assigned to a teammate that do not receive new messages after he/she sets herself to unavailable will be unaffected. That teammate will need to reassign those before her departure, or the other teammates can view her assignments themselves and decide what to do with them.
Use Shifts to handle out-of-office
Create shift schedules across multiple timezones, and assignment rules will only assign to available teammates on the current shift. Conversations won’t be missed when shifts change, and analytics are more precise based on each teammate’s local shift hours. Learn more here.
Out of office settings and vacation responders are available on all plans.
The Shifts feature is available on the Enterprise plan or above. Some legacy plans with different names may also have this feature.