Use comments to work with your teammates and mention them to collaborate internally. Comments are internal messages you can post on any conversation, using the comment bar at the bottom of any conversation. Only your team can see posted comments, so you can discuss the conversation amongst yourselves without having to forward the message around. You can also get a specific teammate's attention using @mentions — just type the @ symbol in the comment bar, then their name. That will pop the conversation into that teammate's inbox in Shared with me for them to comment. The cherry on top is that you can use emojis to react to comments!
How it works
You can comment on a team conversation and anyone with access to the inbox is able to see it if they click into the conversation. If you want to pull someone specific into the conversation, you can @mention anyone on your team to have them chime in on the conversation. Once someone is mentioned, they’ll follow the conversation automatically whenever there is new activity, unless they mute the conversation.
In your individual inbox, you can use comments to write notes for yourself about the conversation, which are only visible to you and anyone you may have delegated your inbox to.
You can also use comments to collaborate quickly when you need to on specific private conversations. Just @mention your teammate on it, and they’ll only get access to that one conversation. They can chat with you about it in comments, or even reply to it for you. Don’t worry about sharing something by mistake — Front will always prompt you to confirm you want to share a private conversation.
When you need some help from a teammate, you can just @mention them in a comment instead of forwarding them the email to create a separate email thread or pinging them in Slack. The internal discussion is saved right on within the Front conversation for future reference, so everyone can see what’s going on.
Type @username to notify someone on your team, or use @all to mention everyone who has access to that inbox! Learn more about all the different ways to use mentions here.
Edit and delete comments
If you want to edit or delete a comment you've posted, hover to the right of the comment to see the Edit and Delete options. If you click Edit, the comment will show in the comment bar to be edited. You can also press the up arrow on your keyboard while active in the comment composer box to edit your comment. If you click Delete, you will be prompted to confirm whether you want to delete the comment.
Reply to comments
You can reply to a specific comment while you are having your discussion with your teammates, so that it’s very clear exactly which comment you are responding to. To reply to a specific comment, hover to the right of the comment and you will see a back arrow to reply to it. Once you click it, the original comment will show in the comment box, and you can type your own comment to reply to it.
Viewing your mentions
You can become a subscriber of a conversation in several ways, one of which is if you are @mentioned into a comment. When there is new activity on the conversation, such as new comments, you will see the conversation appear in your Shared with me section of your individual workspace. You can click there to view your @mentions and other conversations you follow.
At the bottom of a conversation, you'll see a comment box that says Add your comment...
Type up your comment and press Enter on your keyboard to send it, and the comment will appear in the thread. Now, anyone who has access to the inbox or that you mentioned in the comment will be able to see it.
After posting the comment, you can hover to the right of it to Reply, Edit, or Delete your comment. You can also reply to others' comments by clicking the back arrow next to their comment.