How to make inboxes public for your team

Overview

Choosing to make a team inbox public means that all current and future teammates on that team are automatically granted access to that inbox. This means that:

  • The public inbox is visible to everyone on that team
  • The public is not visible to other teams

Instructions

For new inboxes

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Company settings tab. Click on Inboxes on the left menu and Add a team inbox.

Step 2

Fill out the name and description of your inbox, and click Create.

Step 3

Configure the channel for your inbox, and create rules for the inbox, if you'd like.

If you need additional help with these steps, check out our main article on Adding and using team inboxes.

Step 4

When you get to the Teammate access settings, choose Make public to everyone in team, and click Continue. This setting does not automatically pin the new public inbox to your teammates' workspaces, but you can select which teammates to pin for on the next screen. 

Step 5 

Finish configuring your inbox settings. Click Finish to create your new public inbox.

For existing inboxes

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Company settings tab, and select Inboxes on the left menu.

Step 2

Select the inbox, and go to the Teammate access section. 

Step 3

Select Make public to everyone in team. This will update access so that everyone in the team has access to this inbox, and will automatically grant access to future teammates. 

Step 4

Click Save changes. You will see a pop up notifying you that it will take up to 1 hour to update access for the inbox. Click Continue to confirm the changes.


FAQ

How can I remove a teammate from a public inbox?

Go to the settings for the inbox that you'd like to remove the teammate from, and click into its Teammate access settings. Choose Select which teammates have access, and update the teammate access accordingly.

Do new teammates see public inboxes?

When you invite a new teammate to a team, all of the team's public inboxes will be pre-selected in the list of team inboxes, and you will not be able to deselect any public inboxes.

All public inboxes will automatically be pinned to the new teammate's workspace.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 4 days agoLast active
  • 75Views
  • 1 Following