How to block, re-enable, or delete a teammate

Overview

If you're an admin, you can change the status of users on your team in your Teammate settings. You have two options: 

  • Block a teammate: This prevents a user from being able to access their Front account, but it's reversible if you want to re-enable their account later.
  • Delete a teammate: This removes them as a user from your account permanently and cannot be reversed.

When you delete a teammate in the app, data from their private inbox (like private conversations and contacts) will be preserved. To delete this private data, you will need to make a teammate deletion request to our Support team. 

How to manage teammate status in the app

Step 1

Go into your Settings and select Teammates. Click on the teammate you want to block, re-enable, or delete.

Step 2

To block or delete, click Block / Delete on the Teammate's settings page.

Step 3

Choose Block or Delete

Blocking or deleting a teammate will automatically sign them out of Front and they will not be billed from that point onwards. Blocked accounts can be re-enabled, but deleted accounts cannot.

When blocking or deleting a teammate, all conversations they had in shared inboxes will be unassigned. You will also still be able to see deleted teammate's history, such as comments, and when they worked on a conversation. All conversations associated to their individual inboxes will be left as is.

Note: If you scroll to the bottom of your Teammates list you will see a Show blocked teammates button. Blocked teammates will still appear on this list because purging their records entirely would create problems in historical comment threads that include them. This is also where you go to re-enable a teammate. Click Show blocked teammates, select the teammate, and Enable teammate.

How to permanently delete a teammate

If you would like to permanently delete all data associated with a teammate, including their individual inbox, private conversations, and private contacts, you will need to contact our Support team at support@frontapp.com . You cannot do this on your own in the app at this time.

When you make this request, here is the data that will be permanently deleted:

  • Any individual inboxes that teammate created and associated channels
  • All of the conversations and messages associated with their individual inbox(es)
  • All of the private contacts associated with their individual inbox(es)

If the teammate created any team inboxes, those inboxes will not be deleted. Conversations related to the teammate where they replied or commented in team inboxes will not be deleted. 

Step 1

Block the teammate that you want to be permanently deleted following the steps above. You must have admin permissions for the Team that the teammate you want to delete belongs to. We will only permanently delete data for blocked Front teammates in Teams where you are an admin.

Step 2

Send an email to support@frontapp.com with the subject line “Request to hard delete Teammate: {Teammate email address}”. You must include the email address associated with their Front account.

Step 3

Our Support team will confirm you have the appropriate admin permissions and then will begin the deletion. 

Step 4

Our Support team will reply to your email confirming the teammate’s account has been permanently deleted.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 2 wk agoLast active
  • 2532Views
  • 1 Following

Welcome to the Front community!

The Front community is your place to come together and discuss the product, register for webinars, and get support from our help center.

Webinars

New to Front or need to refresh your skills? Join us for live training sessions every week! Check them all out here.

If at any point you need assistance, please don't hesitate to email us: team@frontapp.com.