How smart merge works
Smart merging consolidates duplicate threads in Front to make working together on emails simple.
Front can automatically merge conversations together when one recipient of an email @mentions, assigns, or invites other recipients on their copy of the conversation. When that happens, a smart merge will be triggered so all the teammates involved can work on one unified copy together.
Here's an example:
- A customer emails their Account Manager and CC's their Sales Representative. The Account Manager (John) and Sales Rep (Sally) both manage their individual email in Front.
- John @mentions Sally on his copy of the customer's email: @Sally, what do you think?
- At this point, Sally and John's separate copies of the email will automatically merge into a single conversation in Front, so they can comment and reply in one thread.
Smart merges can also occur with team inbox conversations, as long as the conversation isn't already merged**.
Here's a team inbox example:
- A customer emails the Sales inbox and CC's their Sales Representative. The Sales Rep (Sally) and the Sales inbox are both managed in Front.
- Mary, Sally's manager, @mentions Sally on the team copy in the Sales inbox: @Sally, do you want to take this?
- At this point, Sally and the Sales inbox's separate copies of the email will automatically merge into a single conversation in Front
**To learn more why they'd already be merged, see Reduce duplication of emails.
Smart merges happen automatically when you @mention, assign, or invite other recipients on your copy of the conversation, or when you're @mentioned, assigned, or invited on theirs. There's no additional steps needed to trigger a smart merge. Here's how it works:
Someone emails multiple email addresses that are all managed in Front.
When one recipient @mentions, assigns, or invites another, their conversations will be automatically merged into one conversation. This is a "smart merge", and you can immediately see when this happens because both teammate avatars will be shown in the participants menu.
Here, Rachel @mentions Sarah on her copy to trigger the merge. After that, Rachel and Sarah are owners of a joint conversation 👑 Being an owner means you cannot be removed from the conversation.
Once the conversations have merged, any comments or replies from either teammate will be visible to the other so they can work together on one copy.
Are there any instances a smart merge won't happen?
The merge will happen as long as there are no conflicts between your copies of the conversation when recipients @mention each other. Conflicts in copies are:
- Different messages in your two copies.
- The person being mentioned has a tag on their conversation that's not on the mentioner's copy (but if the mentioner has a tag that the mentionee doesn't have, it will still merge).
- There are different assignees on the copies.
- There are different comments.
Can a smart merge happen between team and individual email channels?
Yes, when you and a team inbox email address both receive the same email and someone @mentions you on the team inbox copy of the conversation. The merge will happen as long as there are no conflicts between your copies of the conversation.
Since you cannot @mention a team inbox, there is no way to merge that into "your copy". Only your private copy can be merged into the the team inbox copy by someone @mentioning you there.
Can a smart merge happen between two team email channels?
Nope! The email will already be a shared between the two team inboxes. Therefore, there's no need to have a merge.
Can I manually merge conversations?
Yes! You can manually merge conversations, separate from smart merge. Follow these instructions to manually merge conversations.
Can a smart merge happen between a recipient and a sender?
Yes! For example: Mike emails Sarah, and Sarah @mentions Mike on her copy of the email. Their conversations will merge assuming that there is no conflicting information in the threads, like if Mike has @mentioned someone else already or tagged his copy.
Why did my smart-merged conversation split into a new conversation?
In some cases, Front will auto-split the conversation again to avoid possible confidential content being exposed on an auto-merged conversation. A new inbound message will create a new conversation if:
- The new message was sent only to you
- You did not comment on or assign the conversation