Advanced Analytics topics

Overview

We try to make the metrics we present in the analytics dashboard as straightforward as possible, but they still depend on details that may be helpful for you to know. Here are a few things you should be aware of if you try to understand exactly how we come up with a certain number and the behavior of the dashboard. To learn more about analytics reports and feature, see here.


Teammates

Assignees

The analytics track each teammate who replies in a conversation, regardless of the official assignee of the conversation. If a conversation is assigned to Mary, but Sophia responds because she is unavailable, Sophia will get a reaction and a reply time.

Out-of-office status

If you are out-of-office, any replies that customers send in conversations that are assigned to you will automatically be unassigned and return to the original shared inbox they came from. Thus, you will not personally accrue reply or reaction times because the conversation is not assigned to you anymore.

However, teammates can still manually assign conversations to you while you're out-of-office, which does accrue reply and reaction times.

Deleting/blocking teammates

When you delete or block a teammate, their historical analytics data will be preserved.


Conversations

Move, tag, or delete conversations

If you modify a conversation, it will usually affect the analytics as expected: deleted conversations will not show in analytics; moving or tagging a conversation will affect views filtering on these inboxes. However, there are 2 exceptions:

  • It may take up to 1 hour for the results to be updated.
  • If the conversation has become inactive, only the latest segment will be updated.

Example 1 - Conversation tagged:

  • Paul (customer) chats with you to report a problem. You tag the conversation as #support.
  • A month later, Paul chats with you again: he is so in love with your product that he would now like to apply for a job. You tag with #job.

In this case, analytics from the previous month will not be modified.

Example 2 - Conversation moved between inboxes:

  • A customer sends a message to the Support inbox. After 15 minutes, a support agent assigns it to themselves, then takes 1 minute to reply. The 16 minutes that passed between the customer's message and the agent's reply are attributed to the support agent as their reply time, with a 1 minute handle time.
  • Next, the agent needs to escalate the conversation, and moves it to the Engineering inbox. An engineer replies to the customer 10 minutes later, and took 2 minutes to write their response. That Engineering teammate will not have a reply time, because there was no new inbound message between the Support reply and the Engineering reply, but the engineer will have a handle time of 2 minutes.

Moves between Teams

When you move conversations from Team A to Team B, analytics are computed for the time that they were in a certain Team. In other words, all analytics are computed for Team A while the conversation is in Team A; and after the move to Team B, all analytics are computed for Team B.

Sequences and Analytics

When sending a Sequence out of Front using a team email address, analytics will count each individual outbound message towards the team inbox's New conversations metric, which also rolls up into the Active conversations metric in the conversations view.


Analytics history

Historical metrics may change

In some cases, analytics metrics displayed for a period may change depending on when you run the report. A few common examples include:

  • Archived conversations: A conversation can become unarchived and re-archived throughout a period. If you run a report in the middle of the week, your Archived conversations count may look different once the week finishes.
  • Tagged conversations: In the Tags report, most metrics look for conversations that are currently tagged with those tags. If you add or remove a tag after running a report, the metrics values may change as a result.

    Historical metrics may change

    In some cases, analytics metrics displayed for a period may change depending on when you run the report. A few common examples include:

  • Archived conversations: A conversation can become unarchived and re-archived throughout a period. If you run a report in the middle of the week, your Archived conversations count may look different once the week finishes.
  • Tagged conversations: In the Tags report, most metrics look for conversations that are currently tagged with those tags. If you add or remove a tag after running a report, the metrics values may change as a result.

Analytics refresh (cache)

There are many things that can cause the analytics results to change, even in the past. For example, if a customer replies before the inactivity time ends to a conversation that was marked as resolved, the conversation will become unresolved.

Analytics are refreshed every hour or whenever a new query is run. For example:

  1. If you go to analytics right now, it will pull the latest data.
  2. If you revisit the same report anytime within the next 1 hour, you will see the same cached data.
  3. If you revisit the same report anytime after 1 hour, the analytics report will be refreshed.
  4. If you revisit the same report but add a new criterion (ex. include a new channel), analytics will then recalculate.

Time range

Analytics focus on any activities that take place during the selected time period. As new replies are sent, the analytics will update to include the metrics even if the original message was received outside of the time range you're viewing, as long as the reply occurred in the time range. Let's say you received an email last Friday, then reply this week on Tuesday. If you check the analytics for this week, it will include the reply time, even though the original message is outside of your requested time range.

Merged conversations

If you merge a conversation, the conversation is also merged in analytics. This means that metrics like reply times could change following a merge.

Historical analytics if you upgrade

If you upgrade from a plan that does not have analytics to a plan that does have analytics, the historical analytics data from the time you were on your previous plan will be available. Likewise, if you downgrade your plan and re-upgrade in the future, the analytics will still be available from when you had a non-analytics Front plan.


Excluded from Analytics

Analytics does not include private tags

The Tags filter for Analytics reports offer team tags only, and not private tags. You currently are not able to run reports on your private tags.

Spam/trash

Items that are marked as spam in Front or arrive to Front marked as spam are excluded from analytics.

Auto-replies

Auto-replies are ignored by the analytics; they do not count as a reply and do not generate a reply time.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 1 mth agoLast active
  • 58Views
  • 1 Following