Understanding inbox and channel settings

Overview

Your inboxes and channels have many settings and features that allow you to customize your workflows and preferences. To edit them, go to your Company settings or Personal settings, and select Inboxes to pull up a list of your team or individual inboxes. Select an inbox to edit its settings, add/remove channels, provision teammate access, and more.

To learn how to add a new inbox, check out these articles on creating a team inbox or individual inbox.


Overview section

Basic information about your inbox.

Name

The internal name for this inbox.

Description

An internal description of this inbox (optional).

Traffic

The Traffic chart gives you a visual overview of how messages move into and out of this inbox. It shows the channels that flow into the inbox, any rules that move messages into this inbox, as well as any rules that move messages out of this inbox and into another inbox.

You can click on any object that appears in the Traffic chart to jump to the settings for that channel/inbox/rule.


Channels settings section

A list of all channels that flow into this inbox. An inbox can have one channel, multiple channels, or no channels at all. To understand more about how inboxes and channels work in Front, check out this article.

Channel settings

Click each channel to expand its settings. Channel settings vary depending on the type of channel, e.g. you’ll see different settings available for an email channel than you’d see for a website chat channel. Below are channel settings that are available for every channel type.

Undo send timing

Establish an undo send period for messages sent from this channel, or choose to have this channel’s messages send immediately. To learn more about Undo send timing, check out this article.

All teammates can reply

Toggle on All teammates can reply to allow all teammates to reply using this channel, without needing access to its inbox. Check out this article for more information on this setting.

Auto-assign conversations on first reply

Toggle on Auto-assign conversations on first reply to automatically assign a conversation to the first teammate who replies to it. See here for more details on this setting.

Add a channel

Step 1

From the Channels section of an inbox, click Add channel to add a new channel to this inbox.

Step 2

Select a channel type, and follow the prompts to connect your new channel to the inbox.

Move a channel

Front allows you to move a channel from one individual inbox to another individual inbox, or from one shared inbox to another shared inbox. Moving the channel to another inbox will bring along all the conversation history that is attached to that channel. See here for more details and full instructions.

Remove a channel

Select Remove this channel at the bottom of a channel's settings to remove it. Removing a channel from an inbox breaks the connection between the channel and its inbox, but does not affect the message history. Find more information and steps here.

Inboxes without channels

An inbox in Front does not need to contain any channels. An inbox without channels is referred to as an empty inbox, and can be used for organizational purposes. For more information about empty inboxes, check out this article.


Rules section

If your team has any active move or assign rules related to this inbox, they will be listed here. Click on a rule to view its full details or edit the rule.

To learn more about rules in Front, and which rules are included in your plan, check out our Understanding rules article.

Moving into inbox

Any rule that results in a conversation being moved out of another inbox and into this inbox.

Moving out of inbox

Any rule that moves conversations out of this inbox, and into another inbox.

Assigning in inbox

Any rule that assigns conversations in this inbox to teammates. See here for an overview of Assign to rules. 

Adding new rules

You can create new rules for an inbox right from the Rules section of that inbox's settings.

Step 1

Click Add rule to add a new rule for conversations in this inbox.

Step 2

Select one of our rule templates to start building your rule.


Teammate access section

You'll see the Teammate access section in any team inbox. Use the dropdown menu to select which teammates have access to this inbox. You can also toggle on Add future teammates to automatically give new teammates access to this inbox.


Inbox Settings section

Front offers a variety of inbox-level settings that allow you to customize different workflows for different inboxes.

Color

Choose a color to help you quickly visually reference this inbox. Your inbox’s color will appear to the left of the inbox's name in your workspace and at the top of any conversation in that inbox.

You'll also see this inbox's color represented in the conversation list when working outside of the inbox itself (such as in your Assigned to me or Shared with me folders, or when viewing all conversations within a tag). Quickly identify a conversation's inbox by looking at the colored triangle at the top right corner of the conversation preview.

Make inbox visible in the analytics

This setting is unique to individual inboxes. By default, the analytics of an individual inbox is not included in Analytics reports, but can be enabled. Making an individual inbox visible in analytics will allow admins to track the performance of teammates who primarily work and communicate out of their own inboxes, rather than a shared team inbox. To make its data visible, toggle on this feature.

Company rules affect this inbox

Toggle on or off to allow Company rules to apply to this inbox.

Conversations become inactive after

Choose an inactivity period for conversations in this inbox. The inactivity period represents the length of time during which a conversation should have no new activity before going into an inactive state. Once inactive, the conversation will stop accruing time in analytics; and could be unassigned upon a new message if you turn on the Unassign inactive conversations setting described below. Learn more about inactivity time here.

Unassign inactive conversations

Toggle on to automatically unassign inactive conversations when they receive a new message.

Keep actions in this inbox separate from other inboxes

When you have team inboxes added to Front within the same Team, the default behavior is that emails addressed to multiple team inbox addresses will be automatically merged into one master copy. Toggle on Keep actions in this inbox separate from other inboxes to disable this behavior.

This feature is disabled by default. Read more about the feature here to learn how enabling it will affect your team inbox.

Archive all conversations

Mass archive all conversations in this inbox from before a specified date. Read more here.


Deleting an inbox

Deleting an inbox will delete both your inbox and any conversation within it. When you delete an inbox, all the history within the inbox will be deleted and cannot be restored. Check out this article for more information on deleting an inbox.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 1 mth agoLast active
  • 206Views
  • 1 Following