Manually merge conversations
There may come a time where you have separate threads about the same topic. In those cases, merging the conversations can help your productivity so that all context is in one thread.
How it works
When you can merge
- If conversations are emails.
- If conversations are Tweets.
When you cannot merge
- You've selected two different conversation types, such as an email and a Tweet.
- One or more of the emails started as a Front Form submission, then continued as email.
- If the number of messages or activities across all conversations you're merging exceeds 100. You will receive an error that says "These conversations are too big to be merged."
How merging works
The behavior and end result of the merge will be based on the following hierarchy of conditions, in order:
- The conversation with the most number of messages becomes the master copy and the subject from this copy is retained.
- The conversation with an assignee becomes the master copy.
- The conversation with the most recent comment becomes the master copy.
- The conversation with a tag becomes the master copy.
- The conversation that was created first becomes the master copy.
Select the multiple conversations you wish to merge, and click the three-dots conversation menu. Select Merge conversations. If you only select one conversation, the option will not appear.
An alert will pop up confirming that you want to merge these conversations. If you're ready, select Merge. Keep in mind, this cannot be undone.
The messages will them appear as one conversation. If the conversations you are merging have different subjects, the subject applied will be the subject of the conversation with the most number of messages, activities, and assignees.