How to snooze conversations for later or follow-up

Overview

Ever wish you could hide a message in your inbox until later, or make a sent message reappear for follow-up? With snooze, you can set a time for conversations to reopen in your inbox exactly when you want them to. The snooze is available in two ways:

  1. Snoozing the conversation using the clock icon at the top of the conversation.
  2. Using the Send & Snooze button in your composer when you send a message.

How it works

Here is what happens when you snooze a conversation:

  • It will move to the Snoozed tab of your inbox and will reopen at the exact time and date you want. 
  • Snoozing from a shared inbox will snooze the message for your teammates, and snoozing from your individual workspace will snooze the conversation for yourself. 
  • Snoozing from your Shared with me folder will snooze the conversation for yourself. 
  • If a recipient replies before your set snooze time, the conversation will reopen the conversation and automatically cancel the snooze. You can re-set the same snooze with one click.

Snooze for later

You can snooze a conversation if you want to handle it later. This is helpful if you want to return to this task but remove it from your inbox for the time being so that you can use your inbox as a true to-do list. To snooze the conversation, click the clock icon at the top of the conversation and choose from the list of times, or set a custom Day & Time.


Send & Snooze for follow-up

Send & Snooze helps you remember to follow up on important messages, especially if you're waiting to hear back from a customer. It's one of your sending options in the composer when you send your message, so the conversation reopens at your chosen time if you don't receive a reply. You might remember this in a previous version of Front as the Reminder feature, which was shown as a clock in the composer toolbar. 

You can access Send & Snooze in two ways:

1) Set it to be your default send button. Once set, all your messages will show the Send & Snooze button and ask you to choose a snooze time every time you use it to send a message.

2) Click the dropdown arrow on your Send button to manually choose Send & Snooze. Each time you use it, you will choose the snooze time you want.


Managing your snoozes

Custom snooze times

You can curate the list of options that show in your snooze menu by going to your Settings, and clicking My Preferences. Then click into the Snoozes tab and customize your snooze times here. 

You will see some default custom snoozes added for you, which you can click into and fully customize by editing the name, whether it reopens on a specific day and time, or to reopen after a certain duration of time has passed. You can also add your own new times by clicking Add snooze timing from the snooze list.

Once you've created your custom snooze times, you will see the times listed to choose from when you snooze a conversation. 

How to find snoozed conversations

To see snoozed messages, simply click the Snoozed tab at the top of any inbox or pinned tag.

In the search bar, you'll also find Snoozed as an option in the dropdown, allowing you to locate snoozed conversations in the currently selected inbox, or in All inboxes. You are also able to use the search condition is:snoozed when searching your inboxes.

Cancel a snooze

To manually cancel a snooze you’ve set, simply click the active (orange) snooze clock icon and click Unsnooze.

Reset the snooze

When your recipient replies to a message before your snooze timer expires, the snooze will be canceled automatically. To reset the same snooze again, click the blue hyperlink Snooze again until… This will reset the same snooze with one click.

 

What happens when I snooze?
 

  1. When you’re the assignee, or when performed from a team inbox, snoozing impacts everyone.

    When snoozing as the assignee, the conversation will be moved to the snoozed tab of that team inbox. For anyone else looking at the inbox, this conversation will appear as snoozed. This will not snooze for any teammate that previously was a subscriber in the conversation. They will still have control over their view of the conversation via their Shared with me folder. They will also need to snooze it in their own inbox.

    When snoozing from a team inbox, and even without being the assignee, the same behavior will apply. The conversation will be moved to the snoozed tab of the team inbox, but any other conversation participants will still be able to read and snooze in their own Shared with me folder. It will also not snooze the conversation in the assignee’s inbox.

  2. When performed in your Shared with me folder, snoozing will always impact yourself only.

    Your Shared with me folder gathers all conversations you’re a subscriber on. Only you can snooze conversations from this folder. Snoozing in this folder will never snooze for anyone else but you, no matter the circumstances. When snoozing in your Shared with me folder, the conversation will be moved to the snoozed tab of that folder only.
     
  3. When performed in your individual inbox (me@mycompany.com), snoozing only impacts yourself.

    Similar to your Shared with me folder, snoozing in your individual inbox will only archive for yourself. You will not snooze for any teammates who are subscribers and see this conversation in their Shared with me folder.
     
  4. When performed in a delegated inbox, snoozing is as if performed by the owner of the inbox.

    If you were given delegation to a teammate’s inbox, snoozing there will be as if the owner of that inbox took the action. All of the above rules apply as if the action was performed by the owner. If the same conversation was present in your own personal inbox, it will not affect its snooze status. Note that even if performed through a delegated inbox, the archiving activity will show your name in the activity trail.
     
  5. When performed in Assigned conversations (including Teammates section), snoozing impacts everyone.

    The behavior here is the same as snoozing from the team inbox. When snoozing, the conversation will be moved to the Snoozed tab of that team inbox. For anyone else looking at the inbox, this conversation will appear as Snoozed, but subscriber copies in teammates’ Shared with me sections will stay open.

35replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • John Fabrega Appreciate your enthusiasm here, we record the vote (+1) per customer but will add more votes when other users are reporting this as well :) 

    Like
  • GMail has a snooze option called "Last date/time"

    When clicked it quickly snoozes the email for the same time as the last selected "Day & Time"

    If you could add this it would save a lot of time for power snooze users who need to snooze multiple emails for the same time.

    Like
  • Is there an easy way to re-order snooze times in the list?
    If not, could one be added?

    Thanks
     

    Like
  • Robert McLister Thanks for the feedback! Though neither of these options are currently available, I've added them as feature requests to be considered as we continue to make improvements to Front. 

    Like
  • @robert I had asked the same question was  told that when displayed as choices it automatically displays from soonest to most distant. Once I understood that it mad more sense. I do wish that the popup showed more choices without scrolling.

    I'll +1 (like) your suggestions if you'll +1 mine farther above =)

    Like
  • John Fabrega 

    You’re absolutely right. Just realized that. In that case I’ll retract my suggestion. 
    Cheers

    Like
  • Jessye Levy I see they’re ordered by time. So my request is no longer necessary. Thanks nonetheless. 

    Like
  • Wonderful, thank you both! 

    Like
  • I've recently started seeing some of my snoozes get archived. Are snoozes technically archived until reopened? Trying to understand because this will help me with creating a certain rule. I want the trigger to be when snoozed, but there's no option for that!

    Like
  • Hi Debra Gunn - thanks for your question! The rule engine actually does not count the snooze action to be the same as the "When archived" trigger, and you're correct that we do not have a "When snoozed" trigger so this is not possible in the rule engine. I've added a feature request for this trigger for you! If you have any specific questions on building a rule or workflow, feel free to email us at support@frontapp.com so that we can help with specific suggestions for you!

    Like
Like Follow
  • 1 mth agoLast active
  • 35Replies
  • 6921Views
  • 17 Following