Understanding your inbox

Overview

Your inbox is a consolidated view of all your important conversations in Front that need your attention. A conversation can be in your inbox for a variety of reasons — it's assigned to you, you're @mentioned, or there's new activity in a conversation you're subscribed to.

When you archive, snooze, or mute conversations from your inbox, it doesn't impact other participants in the conversation. You can clear out your inbox without archiving the conversation for other participants by mistake. 


Inbox sections

Your inbox is a consolidated view of all the conversations you're participating in: whether they are assigned to you, you've been @mentioned or invited, or you've subscribed to see updates. 

Click Inbox to view open conversations in each section all at once, or click on each section to view them separately.

Assigned to me

When any conversation is assigned to you from a team inbox or individual inbox, it will show up here until you archive or snooze it.

Shared with me

Being @mentioned or invited to a conversation will add it to this section. If you send a reply, post a comment, or subscribe by clicking the bell icon, then all new messages and comments will cause the conversation to bump up in this section so you can see new activity. If you don't subscribe, then it will stay archived even when there's new activity.

Discussions

Any internal discussions that you've been invited to will be found here. New comment activity in the discussion will cause them to unarchive and bump up in this section until you mute them.

Individual inbox

If you've added your private work email as an individual inbox in Front, those messages will arrive here. They'll be private by default unless you share your individual inbox with a teammate. You can share messages one at a time by @mentioning a teammate or inviting them in the participants menu. Please note that conversations in your private inbox are not technically assigned to you. If you assign a private conversation to yourself, it will disappear from your private inbox and this could cause confusion.

Starred

You can quickly star any conversation that you want to find later, and those conversations will appear in the Starred section below your individual inbox. You can also drag and drop conversations into the Starred section to apply the star, which will move the conversation out of the original location and file it into the Starred section. You can unstar the conversation to return it to the original inbox.

For Gmail users: If you star items in your individual inbox, the status will sync with your Gmail inbox. If you star items in a team inbox, the starred view is personal to you and does not sync with Gmail. 

5replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Is it possible to disable or hide the new "starred folder"?
     

    Like
  • I've been waiting for this "Starred" feature ANXIOUSLY! Thank you. 🙏

    Like 2
  • Charlie Not at this time, but we'll share this feedback with our team! Thanks!

    Like
  • I noticed the Starred folder does not show a count of emails or anything. Is that something I can turn on? It would also be nice if it were a Gold or colored star or something.

    Like
  • Nate Tew Hey Nate, currently counters aren't available for the Starred folder. However, this is an existing feature request in our product backlog and I've gone ahead and added a +1 vote for this capability in Front!

    Like
Like Follow
  • 6 days agoLast active
  • 5Replies
  • 3069Views
  • 6 Following