Enabling a data retention policy in Front
Note: This feature is currently in beta and will be released broadly soon
Front's data retention feature allows companies to automatically delete conversations and contacts from Front on an ongoing basis. Here is how Front's data retention feature works:
- When enabled, conversations are moved to the trash automatically after a period of time set by your company.
- The retention time starts from the timestamp of the last message or comment in the conversation.
- Once in the trash, they are then permanently deleted after 7 days.
- Both team and individual copies of the conversation are deleted.
- If there are no longer any other messages from the contact in the deleted conversation, the contact record is also permanently deleted from Front.
- Data retention results in permanent deletion and the data cannot be recovered.
To enable data retention, click into Settings, then Preferences under the Company section. Select the Data retention tab.
Specify the number of days you would like to retain inactive conversations in Front before moving them to the trash. Keep in mind that Front deletes conversations in the trash after 7 days, so consider this time as well when setting your retention policy. For example, if you wanted to permanently delete conversations after 60 days, you might want to send conversations to the trash after 53 days to account for the time the conversation will sit in the trash before being purged.
After Saving, you will be prompted with a confirmation modal. Type the words Move to trash and click Confirm.
How does Front measure inactivity for data retention?
Data retention references the timestamp of the last message or comment in the conversation to determine inactivity. For example, suppose a data retention policy is set to 14 days, and the following conversation is stored in Front:
Dec 1: Inbound message
Dec 5: Reply sent
Dec 6: Comment made
Dec 10: Message tagged and archived
In the example above, the conversation would be moved to the trash on Dec 20, 14 days after the last comment was made. If, however, on Dec 14, a new message came in, the counter would be reset and the conversation would not be sent to the trash until 14 days of inactivity had passed.
What information is deleted as part of data retention?
The entire conversation, including messages and comments, is deleted. This includes personal copies of the conversation located in individual inboxes, in cases where individuals have been a participant in the conversation.
If, while deleting the conversation, there are no longer any other messages from the deleted contact in that conversation, the contact record is also permanently deleted from Front.
Is the conversation recoverable once deleted?
No, data retention results in permanent deletion and conversations cannot be recovered.
Data retention is available on all Front plans.