Reduce duplication of emails in Front

Overview

At Front, it's possible to have access to multiple copies of the same email. For example, this can happen when:

  • A customer emails you (me@company.com) and one of your teammates (sarah@company.com). You both receive your own copy of the email.
  • After you post a few comments in your copy, Sarah @mentions you in to her copy
  • Now, you have access to 2 copies: yours and Sarah's!

One of our goals is to help make you more efficient by reducing the amount of duplicated emails you receive. Without duplication, there’s no confusion of “who’s working on what?”, or “which thread has the most recent information?”

There are a few ways in Front that we reduce duplicated emails – and therefore, duplicated work!

@mention a teammate, then add a teammate as a CC

If you @mention a teammate into an email conversation, and then add them as a To or CC recipient, your teammate will not receive a second copy of the email when you send the draft. 

Instead, both you and your teammate can continue to work off the one conversation without having to manage separate copies.

Share a draft with a teammate, then add a teammate as a CC

If you share a draft with your teammate and then add them as a To or CC recipient, your teammate will not receive a second copy of the email when you send the draft.

Instead, both you and your teammate can continue to work off the one conversation without having to manage separate copies.

Email sent to an individual and team inbox

If an email is sent to both a teammate’s individual inbox and a team inbox, then there will be 1 copy of the email that is shared between the individual and team inbox. This means that:

  • The email will be visible in both the teammate’s Inbox and the team inbox
  • Comments will be visible to both the teammate and the team

If the teammate archives the email in their own individual inbox, this will not archive the conversation in the team inbox (unless the teammate is the Assignee).

In order to preserve access rights and privacy, we will not de-duplicate the emails sent to the teammate’s individual inbox and a team inbox if:

  • One of the recipients is a BCC
  • The teammate does not have access to the team inbox
  • The team inbox is a split inbox
  • The email was only sent to an individual inbox first, and then a team inbox is added in the CC later
  • One of the inbox channels has threading set as "disabled"

Why do I still have cases where I have multiple copies of the same email?

  • If an email is sent to 2 individual inboxes, then each teammate receives a separate copy. That means if your teammate @mentions you into their copy, you can see 2 copies in your Inbox.
  • If a Front user emails a team inbox from their individual inbox, then the team inbox and the individual inbox have separate copies. We want to respect the divide between senders and recipients.
  • If a Front user emails a teammate's individual inbox from a team inbox for their first email, then the team inbox and the individual inbox have separate copies. This is also so that we respect the divide between senders and recipients. Note that if an individual inbox is added as a CC in subsequent emails, then there will not be a separate copy in the individual inbox. Note: If a user emails their own individual inbox from a team inbox, there will only be 1 copy.
  • If an email is sent to your individual inbox, and then you add a team inbox as a CC, the team inbox will receive a separate copy. This is to respect your privacy for any past content (e.g. past comments, etc.)

Merge duplicates with one click

Front will intelligently determine when you have duplicates of the same email and ask if you want to merge them into one copy. The two cases where this will happen are:

  • Other teammates mention you on their private copies of an email that was also sent to your private inbox. These separate private copies can be merged together so all the context is in one place.
  • An email is sent to your private inbox and a team inbox, where the team inbox has been split*. These separate copies can be merged together.

When these cases occur, Front will show you a banner at the bottom of all relevant copies of the conversation you have access to, and you will be able to click Merge all to directly merge these copies, or click View to see what these copies are. Once duplicates are merged, all participants from all copies will be on this one copy.

 

*Splitting an inbox is an action that you must contact our support team to complete. It creates an independent copy of an email in a team inbox so that actions such as replying, commenting, assigning, archiving are not synced to any other team or private copies in Front. If you have never reached out to Front to do this for you, then this does not apply to you.

1reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 2 wk agoLast active
  • 1Replies
  • 1024Views
  • 2 Following