How to remove a channel or delete an inbox

Overview

When managing team or individual inboxes, you may need to delete inboxes or remove channels. Let's first understand the difference between the two:

Inbox

An inbox is an organizational structure that can house one or more channels within. An empty inbox would function like a shared folder that teammates can move conversations into. When you delete an inbox, all the history within the inbox will be deleted and cannot be restored.

Channel

A channel is the actual account that you are adding in to the inbox; which could be email, SMS, Twitter, Facebook, etc. You can have multiple channels and channel types within one inbox. When you remove a channel, the history will remain in the inbox but the connection will be removed.


Remove a channel

When you remove a channel, the history will remain in the inbox but the connection will be removed. Note: If you want to delete all the conversations in the inbox, see section below on deleting inboxes.

Step 1

Click on your avatar in the upper left corner of Front and select Settings.

Step 2

Select My Inboxes (or Inboxes under the team you would like to do this for).

Step 3

Select the inbox containing the channel you want to remove.

Step 4

Scroll down to the channel and click Remove this channel.

Step 5

You'll see a confirmation window. Click Remove this channel again.

Step 6 (optional)

You will land back in the inbox settings. If you'd like, you can add a channel back into the inbox any time by clicking the Add a channel button on the left side.


Delete an inbox

When you delete an inbox, all the history within the inbox will be deleted and cannot be restored. Note: If you want to retain your conversation history but no longer get new emails into the inbox, see the section above on removing channels.

Step 1

Click on your avatar in the upper left corner of Front and select Settings.

Step 2

Select My Inboxes (or Inboxes under the team you would like to do this for).

Step 3

Select the Inbox you want to delete.

Step 4

Select Delete this inbox.

Step 5

You will see a confirmation screen telling you that all conversations in the inbox will be deleted forever. Type the name of this inbox to confirm. 

Step 6

Select Delete this inbox to delete.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 4 mths agoLast active
  • 541Views
  • 1 Following