How to remove a channel or delete an inbox

Overview

When managing team or individual inboxes, you may need to delete inboxes or remove channels. Let's first understand the difference between the two:

Inbox

An inbox is an organizational structure that can house one or more channels within. An empty inbox functions like a shared folder that teammates can move conversations into. When you delete an inbox, all the history within the inbox will be deleted and cannot be restored. This action will not delete emails in your Office 365/Gmail account.

Channel

A channel is the actual account that you are adding in to the inbox; which could be email, SMS, Twitter, Facebook, etc. You can have multiple channels and channel types within one inbox. When you remove a channel, the history will remain in the inbox but the connection will be removed.


Remove a channel

When you remove a channel, the history will remain in the inbox but the connection will be removed. If you want to delete all the conversations in the inbox instead, see section below on deleting inboxes.

Step 1

Click into your Personal settings or Company settings, depending on which space you are working with. Admins can also access user settings by following these steps.

Step 2

Select the inbox containing the channel you want to remove.

Step 3

Click on the Channels section and click on the channel to expand its settings menu.

Step 4

Scroll down to the bottom and click Remove this channel.

Step 5

You'll see a confirmation window. Click Remove this channel again.

Step 6 (optional)

You will land back in the inbox settings. If you'd like, you can add a channel back into the inbox any time by clicking the blue Add channel button.

Note: When you add a channel back, the signature preferences for that channel will not be restored; see here for instructions on setting up a default signature for a channel.


Delete an inbox

When you delete an inbox, all the history within the inbox will be deleted and cannot be restored. If you do want to retain your conversation history but no longer get new emails into the inbox, see the section above on removing channels.

Step 1

Click into your Personal settings or Company settings, depending on which space you are working with. Admins can also access user settings by following these steps.

Step 2

Select the inbox you want to delete.

Step 3

Click on the Settings section of the inbox.

Step 4

At the bottom, select Delete inbox.

Step 5

You will see a confirmation screen telling you that all conversations in the inbox will be deleted forever and it cannot be undone. Type the name of this inbox to confirm. Select Delete this inbox to delete.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 2 wk agoLast active
  • 1777Views
  • 1 Following